Bronze Medallion

The Bronze and Rescue awards strand teaches an understanding of the lifesaving principles embodied in the four components of water rescue education: judgement, knowledge, skills and fitness.

The central component of the Bronze program is the Bronze Medallion which has been operating for over 100 years with many Australians undertaking the program since commencement. The Bronze Medallion is considered the pinnacle of the awards in the community.

Lifesaving skills learnt and developed through the program are highly regarded in the community and may even lead to or enhance the chances of starting a career.

There are 6 awards within the Bronze and Rescue strands building on the National Swimming and Water Safety Framework:
- Dry Rescue
- Wade Rescue
- Accompanied Rescue
- Bronze Star
- Bronze Medallion
- Bronze Cross

The program focuses on developing the participants' survival and rescue skills enabling them to make the right survival decisions that may help them or others survive an aquatic emergency.

Participants learn a range of rescue methods and personal survival skills in preparation for challenging rescues of increased risk. They learn to respond to resuscitation and emergency care situations involving conscious and unconscious casualties. Participants will develop stroke efficiency and endurance. Using the knowledge and skills learnt in the program, judgement will be tested in a initiative scenario.

For information on each of the Bronze and Rescue awards go to Program Overview.